top of page
  • alexaspams5267

Why You Shouldn't Compare Yourself to Others

*TW: EATING DISORDER*


It's important to understand that confidence comes with security. What I mean by this is that you are secure within yourself and seeing others as the blueprint of what you want to look like because you are beautiful just the way you are. And I understand how corny it may seem, but you should never, and I mean never compare yourself to other people because it demonstrates insecurity and you tend to emphasize how much flaws you really have.


First and foremost, everyone has flaws and everyone has insecurities. Therefore, you could be comparing yourself to someone who is just as insecure as you. And believe it or not, but they could also be comparing themselves to others or possibly even you. Remember we all see the world in our own perspectives, and often times we look in the mirror and find flaws so quickly. But those flaws are not as visible as we see it to be.


Now the next time you look in the mirror, you say "I am beautiful" point out your best attributions and your favorite aspects of yourself. This way you will slowly start believing these things, and it won't just be a simple saying, it would simply be the truth. As for when you walk outside, do not watch what others have that you don't. You will simply tell yourself "they're just as beautiful as me", because the send you have a negative thought about yourself, you'll start believing it and it'll ruin all your progress.


Because surely enough, some people are experiencing hardships. Take me for example, I was once overweight and I experienced a eating disorder and lost a bunch of weight, I did reach my goal weight, but not in the healthiest way. I could be the girl you aspire to look like when you walk down the street, memorizing the slim figure. However, I'm not the happiest person as I suffer from counting calories everyday and feeling so guilty every time I eat something that I consider 'unhealthy'.


You are beautiful just the way you are and honestly, you should never let a person take that a way from you just because of how they look. Literally everyone on this Earth are experiencing some sort of hardship whether it is a physical or an emotional challenge. Therefore, wishing to be someone else, isn't something that you should do or get into the habit of doing. Because trust me you might have something that they deeply wished they had. Everyone is constantly comparing themselves to the lives of other because everyone has a reason don't. But don't be everyone, be the person that helps people see their value and prevent them from seeing themselves as less than.



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page